Sports Shorts - Y Magazine
Check out the latest podcast episode Listen
BYU Today

Sports Shorts

Steve Parker

Steve Parker


Five Cougars were drafted in the 2009 Major League Baseball draft in June. Two players accepted the offers: third baseman Steve C. Parker (’09), who was selected in the fifth round by the Oakland A’s, and Jeremy L. Toole (’09), selected in the 10th round by the San Francisco Giants.


In the fourth round of the 2009 NFL draft, the Indianapolis Colts selected BYU’s all-time receptions leader, Austin K. Collie (’11). Fullback Fui Vakapuna (BS ’08) was drafted in the seventh round by the Cincinnati Bengals. Linebacker David R. Nixon (’10) and offensive linemen Travis R. Bright (BS ’09), Ray Feinga (’10), David D. Oswald (BA ’08), and Dallas J. Reynolds (’10) have signed contracts as free agents.


After winning the MWC championship, the Cougars received several post-season honors. Catcher Jessica Purcell (’11) was named MWC Player of the Year. Pitcher Christie Zinanti (’10), who holds school records for all-time wins, strikeouts, and innings pitched, captured the MWC Pitcher of the Year award. Coach Gordon Eakin received MWC Coach of the Year for the first time.

Track and Field

Kyle Perry

National champion Kyle Perry

All-American Kyle T. Perry (’09) won the national championship title in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field National Championships in June. The men’s team tied for 13th overall. The women’s team took 15th place thanks to All-American performances by Cecily J. Lemmon (’10), who finished second in the 1,000-meter race; Lacey M. Cramer (’12), who placed fourth in the 800-meter race; and Ada L. Robinson (’12), who landed fifth in the high jump.

Both the men’s and women’s teams claimed MWC outdoor championship titles and coaches Mark T. Robison (BS ’82) and R. Craig Poole (’83) took home MWC Coach of the Year awards.


BYU hosted its first NCAA Men’s Volleyball Championship at the Smith Fieldhouse in May. Elite programs from around the country competed for the national title, which was taken by UC Irvine. While the Cougars have won three times in the past 10 years, more than any other team during that period, the BYU men’s team did not advance to the playoffs this year.