1954 | Uwe J. Hansen (BS ’54, MA ’61, PhD ’66; Louise Brimhall [BA ’49, MFA ’66]; Terre Haute, Ind.) is an emeritus physics professor at Indiana State University, where his research has focused on the physics ofmusical instruments. A fellow of the Indiana Academy of Science, Hansen has served as the organization’s president and speaker of the year. He is also a fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and was awarded its 2011 Distinguished Service Citation.

1972 | Daniel L. Orr II (BS ’72, DDS University of Southern California ’75, MS University of Utah ’79, PhD Columbia Pacific University ’88, JD William Howard Taft University ’93, MD University of Health Sciences Antigua ’00; Las Vegas) received the Daniel M. Laskin Outstanding Predoctoral Educator Award from the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. He serves as professor and director of oral and maxillofacial surgery and advanced pain control at University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine.

Jessica Weiss Kelly

Jessica Kelly

1976 | Jessica Weiss Kelly (BS ’76; David R. [BA ’74]; Vancouver, Wash.) is the new 2011–12 president of the Vancouver School District Foundation board of directors. She is a local music teacher and community advocate.

1977 | James R. Layton (BS ’77, JD ’82; Cindy; Jefferson City, Mo.) was honored by the University of Missouri School of Law with a Distinguished Non-Alumnus Award for his service to the school.

Stephen L. Guymon

Stephen Guymon

1979 | Stephen L. Guymon (BS ’79; Michelle; Mesa, Ariz.), a senior manager of engineering enterprise support for Boeing, has been honored with the company’s annual Special Invention Award, which highlights the best of Boeing innovation. Guymon was part of a team that invented a disbond-resistant composite joint and a method of forming the joint. He also has a private pilot’s license and enjoys building and flying radio-controlled airplanes and helicopters.

1981 | Chris Coons (BS ’81, MPA ’83; Kim Young [BS ’80], St. George, Utah) has been named vice president of outreach services for Intermountain Healthcare. He previously served as regional vice president of Intermountain Healthcare’s southwest region and CEO of Intermountain Homecare.

1984 | Peter M. Haymond (BA ’84, MALD Tufts University ’86, PhD Tufts University ’94; Dusadee; Sichuan, China) was appointed consul general of the U.S. consulate general in Chengdu, China. He previously was deputy chief of mission at the U.S. embassy in Vientiane, Laos. A Department of State Foreign Service officer for more than 20 years, he has served at the U.S. embassies in China, Laos, Thailand, and Korea. John S. Viehweg (BA ’84; Lana Ray [BS ’83]; Eagle, Idaho) has published Mom, Interrupted: A Young Family Faces Cancer, an account of how he, his wife, and their nine children dealt with the reality of his wife’s cancer.

1986 | Ralph C. Tobias (BA ’86; Eileen; Spanish Fork, Utah) is now the program manager for BYU Broadcasting. He was formerly the manager of programming, promotions, and marketing for WVIR-TV (NBC) in Charlottesville, Va.

1988 | Reymond C. Ruesch (BS ’88; Cheryl Call [BS ’89]; Saratoga Springs, Utah) earned a President’s Award for technical excellence at the 2011 URS Corporation’s Pyramid Awards for his environmental work at a chemical weapons elimination research and development facility.

1993 | Jeffrey B. Fugal (BA ’93, JD Indiana University ’96, LLM University of Denver ’97; Michelle; Goodyear, Ariz.) was selected for inclusion in the 2012 edition of The Best Lawyers in America. Fugal works for the national law firm of Quarles & Brady.

Leslie Newell Gallacher

Leslie Gallacher

1996 | Leslie Newell Gallacher (BA ’96, JD ’00; Brian T. [’96]; Spanish Fork, Utah) has been promoted to vice president of North American operations for XANGO. She is a member of the Direct Selling Association’s international council and the Women’s Leadership Council. Bradley S. Leone (BA ’96; Tiffany Terry [BA ’96]; Spring, Texas) was named Public Relations Professional of the Year by the Houston chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. He is vice president of the public relations firm Fifth Ring.

1997 | Amber Howell Sistla (BS ’97; Portland, Ore.) has published her first fantasy novel, Obligations of a Cobalt Hue.

Eldon J. Passey

Eldon Passey

1999 | Eldon J. Passey (BA ’99, MA University of Chicago ’01; Stacy Orgill [’96]; Omaha, Neb.) has joined Associated Banc-Corp as executive vice president and head of commercial deposits and treasury management. Perry L. Russell (BS ’99, MA Webster University ’03, MPA Webster University ’04; Tolleson, Ariz.) is employed as a management analyst human resources specialist for the Arizona Department of Corrections.

Matthew A. West

Matthew West

2000 | Erin Shumate Porter (BM ’00, MM Manhattan School of Music ’02; Ben [BM ’02]; Bellevue, Wash.) has been named a member of the professional-level Seattle Wind Symphony for its inaugural 2011–12 season. She is also a certified teacher for Let’s Play Music, a three-year early music course. John D. Seraydarian (BS ’00, JD University of Richmond ’03; Kristin; New Castle, Del.) has been named a director of the law firm Richards, Layton & Finger in Wilmington, Del. A member of the firm’s business department, he’ll focus on transactional matters involving Delaware alternative entities. Matthew A. West (BA ’00, MS Benedictine University ’05; Karen Worlton [BS ’99]; Naperville, Ill.) was promoted to senior vice president of Insidedge, the employee communications consultancy of Interpublic Group. He has also earned the Certified Professional in Learning and Performance credential from the American Society for Training and Development. Bradley J. Wyatt (BA ’00, JD College of William and Mary ’06; Corie Hileman [BA ’00]; Brighton, Mich.) has been named a 2011 Rising Star in business/corporate law by Michigan Super Lawyers.

2001 | Nathan D. Purdy (BS ’01; April Christensen [BM ’01]; Layton, Utah) was awarded the Mike Mansfield Fellowship from the Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation. Purdy will train in Washington, D.C., before acquiring a year of practical expertise in Japanese government. He has been a frontline manager for the Federal Aviation Administration since 2009.

2005 | Nathan L. Hutchings (BS ’05, MBA Indiana University ’09, JD Indiana University ’09; Maureen Everett [BA ’04]; Indianapolis, Ind.) has joined the law firm Keller Macaluso as an attorney. Hutchings’ practice will focus on real estate transactions as well as business transactions and litigation.

2009 | Josh J. LeMonte (BS ’09, MS ’11; Sarah Schoenrock [BS ’10]; Elkton, Md.) has been awarded a Science, Mathematics, and Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship. The SMART Scholarship for Service Program was established by the Department of Defense. LeMonte’s research will focus on the role of manganese in the carbon cycle.

Share this article:

To use more share options on your device, please scan the same QR code and open the link in the latest version of Chrome or Safari