Jan M. Jorgensen ('09)

Jan M. Jorgensen (’09)


BYU men’s and women’s swimming teams have been combined under one coaching staff. Timothy Powers, formerly the men’s head coach, will oversee both teams. The program also hired an additional full-time coach, John Brooks, who served previously as an assitant coach for UNLV.

Track and Field

At the National Junior Olympic Track and Field Championships, Chase S. Dalton (’13) won the decathlon with a score of 7,202 and Curtis A. Carr (’13) won the 3,000-meter steeplechase. The two athletes represented the United States at the International Association of Athletics Federations World Junior Championships in July.

MWC All-Decade Teams

To celebrate the conference’s 10-year anniversary, the MWC has announced several all-decade teams. BYU dominated the MWC all-decade women’s cross country team; six of the seven spots on the team went to former Cougars: Kassi Anderson (BS ’04), Heidi Magill-Dahl (’07), Michaela Mannova (’05), Tara Rohatinsky-Northcutt (BS ’02), Breanne Sandberg (BS ’07), and Laura Heiner-Turner (BS ’05).

To find out which other BYU athletes made their respective MWC all-decade team, visit more.byu.edu/all-decade.

Scholar Athletes

In June, 117 BYU athletes received the 2007–08 MWC Scholar-Athlete Award, the highest academic honor bestowed by the conference. To qualify, students must have maintained a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better and participated in varsity competition in an NCAA-sponsored sport.


In a preseason MWC media poll, the Cougars were predicted to be conference champions once again, receiving 29 of 34 first-place votes. Max R. Hall (’10) was named to the watch list for the 2008 Davy O’Brien Award, given to the nation’s best quarterback. Jan M. Jorgensen (’09) was selected as a candidate for the 2008 Ted Hendricks Award, given annually to the country’s best defensive end. W. Harvey J. Unga (’10) was named to a watch list for the Doak Walker Award, which honors the best running back.

Share this article:

To use more share options on your device, please scan the same QR code and open the link in the latest version of Chrome or Safari