Bracketeering: After 17 years and seven first-round exits, the men’s basketball team finally broke through the first round of the NCAA Tournament, beating Florida 99–92 in a double-overtime thriller. BYU came up short in round two, losing to Kansas State 84–72. The team finished the season with 30 wins—its most ever. WNIT Warriors: After taking second place in the MWC regular season, the women’s basketball team had its own tournament run, reaching the quarterfinals of the Women’s National Invitation Tournament (WNIT), beating Pepperdine, Arizona State, and Wyoming before finishing their season with a loss to California. It is the team’s best run yet in the WNIT.


Studious Linebacker: Matt T. Bauman (’10) received the prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship and a National Football Foundation postgraduate scholarship. The awards will help fund his graduate studies at either Harvard or Stanford.


Double Victory: Robbie Fillmore (’10) won the Fresno State Lexus Golf Classic with a 5-under-par score of 208 while leading BYU to its first team title of the year.


Watch Lists: Catcher Jessica P. Purcell-Fitu (’12) was named to the Top 50 Watch List for the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. This year the team also made the Collegiate Top 25 poll for the first time.


Brandon Watson (’12)


At Nationals: Diver Brandon D. Watson (’12) placed fourth at nationals on the 3-meter springboard and seventh on the 1-meter board, earning All-America honors in both events, while diver Tawni M. Jones (’11) finished 13th on the 1-meter board. Swimmer Rachel Grant (’12) competed in three events, setting a new BYU record in the 200-yard butterfly (1:57.69). Coaching Kudos: Diving coach Keith Russell (BS ’73) was named MWC Diving Coach of the Year, leading the women to their fourth consecutive MWC title and the men to a third-place finish.

Track and Field

Four All-Americans: Defending national 800-meter champ Lacey M. Cramer (’12) claimed the MWC 800-meter title and finished second in the event at NCAA indoor nationals this year, securing All-America honors. Defending pentathlon champ Amy Menlove Otis (’10) also secured All-America honors at nationals, as did Mindy Neely McClurkin (’10), whose second-place finish in the long jump (6.69 meters) broke the BYU record. Leif H. Arrhenius (’10) finished fourth in the weight throw, earning All-America honors two years in a row.

Share this article:

To use more share options on your device, please scan the same QR code and open the link in the latest version of Chrome or Safari