BYU Today

Outstanding Faculty and Staff Honored

During BYU’s Annual University Conference in August, C. Arden Pope III (BS ’78) was honored with the 2006 Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, the university’s highest faculty honor. More than a dozen others were also honored with university awards.

Pope, economics professor and recipient of the Mary Lou Fulton Professorship, is internationally recognized for his research on the economic impact of air pollution. Pope’s research has played a significant role in the establishment of a national standard for fine-particle air pollution. His research is widely cited in professional literature, and he is in demand worldwide as a presenter and collaborator.

Carri Phippen Jenkins (BA ’83), assistant to the president for university communications, was presented the Ben E. Lewis Management Award. In dealing with the media on sensitive university matters, she is the epitome of grace under fire. Jenkins is also a member of the Public Relations Society of America and has received the Communicator of the Year Award from her local chapter. She is an advocate for women and education and has served as president of Utah Women in Higher Education.

Peggy Brown Erickson (’71), executive secretary for the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award, honoring her exemplary contributions to the university through consistent and superior service. She is known for exceeding the extra mile and working professionally, courteously, and consistently. Her positive attitude draws faculty, staff, and students to her desk, and she is a willing mentor to student employees.


For a complete list of award winners, visit

Share this article:

To use more share options on your device, please scan the same QR code and open the link in the latest version of Chrome or Safari