BYU Today

Honoring BYU’s Best

Kening Lu

Kening Lu

IN the annual event where BYU honors its own, it was Kening Lu, a professor of mathematics, who received the university’s most prestigious faculty honor—the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award.

Sixty additional awards were given out by President Samuelson at the 2007 Annual University Conference, recognizing just over 1 percent of the 4,176 full-time faculty, administration, and staff members who make BYU tick. Receiving the top three honors were Lu; Jeanine Schofield Broxton (’72), a former secretary to BYU’s legal counsel; and R. Berrey Parker (’69), the director of BYU Benefits Services.

Lu is an internationally recognized expert in infinite-dimensional dynamical systems and his work, showcased in more than 40 refereed papers, has received continuous funding from the National Science Foundation since 1992. Drawing upon experience teaching mathematics at every level, from elementary school to doctoral programs, Lu cofounded the Math Circle program at BYU in 2005 to provide enrichment activities to gifted elementary students.


J Broxton

Jeanine S. Broxton

Broxton received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award for her contributions to the Office of the General Counsel. In spite of how technological change has affected the way law is practiced—and the complexity of the application of law and policy at BYU—Broxton’s supervisor states that Broxton was completely unflappable in the most daunting of situations.


R Parker

R. Berry Parker

Parker received the Ben E. Lewis Management Award for his 38 years of service in the Human Resources Department. For much of that time, he has been responsible for the job descriptions of every full-time staff and administrative employee on campus. As director of BYU Benefits Services he instituted the Hay Job Evaluation System and implemented the PeopleSoft HR/Payroll System at BYU.