BYU Today

BYU Employees Honored at Annual Conference

A professor of manufacturing technology who is a nationally recognized expert in polymer technology was named this year’s Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, BYU’s highest faculty honor.

A. Brent Stong

A. Brent Stong | Photo by Bradley Slade

A. Brent Strong was presented the award by President Cecil O. Samuelson during the Annual University Conference for faculty and staff members Aug. 26, 2003. Samuelson cited Strong for his research achievements and his ability to teach highly complex technical concepts. Strong later delivered the 2003 Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecture during a university forum Oct. 28, 2003, in the Marriott Center.

Erma J. Severson

Erma J. Severson | Photo by Bradley Slade

Health Services employee Erma J. Severson received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award which recognizes the efforts of an outstanding staff employee. Severson has served the university community for more than 15 years in both staff and administrative positions. Her commitment and exemplary service at the Student Health Center over the last eight years have contributed greatly to the positive image and reputation of the center.

Ronald J. Clark

Ronald J. Clark | Photo by Bradley Slade

Ronald J. Clark, ’72, director of Public Affairs and Guest Relations, was presented the Ben E. Lewis Management Award which honors an exceptional administrative employee. Clark has served the BYU community for more than two decades. Both publicly and behind the scenes, he puts the university’s best foot forward to national and international guests and visitors.

For a complete list of award winners, visit

Share this article:

To use more share options on your device, please scan the same QR code and open the link in the latest version of Chrome or Safari