Several BYU employees were honored at the Annual University Conference in August.

Erin D. Bigler, psychology department chair, received the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, the university's highest faculty honor. A leader in his field of neuropsychology, Bigler has excelled in teaching, research, and clinical practice. His professional distinctions include diplomate status in clinical neuropsychology from the American Board of Professional Psychology and service as president of the National Academy of Neuropsychologists. Widely respected for his research (including 10 books, numerous book chapters, and more than 200 papers), he is also recognized as a superb teacher.

Janice Foutz, an accounting specialist for Information Technology Services, received the Fred A. Schwendiman Performance Award, the university's highest honor for staff employees. "She outperforms everyone else in the division," a colleague said of Foutz. "She knows her job backwards and forwards and always has the answers to the innumerable questions with which she is bombarded." Foutz is known for working beyond her assignments, meeting deadlines, and coming up with innovative ideas.

Irvin G. Bassett, supervisor of stock rooms and labs for the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was given the Ben E. Lewis Management Award, recognizing an outstanding administrative employee. In his 35 years at BYU, Bassett, who retired May 31, 1999, demonstrated a high level of dependability and proficiency. He was known for being an example and mentor to students; at little or no cost to the university, he and his wife often took students to professional meetings. His management skills allowed him to play a vital role in the recent renovation of the Eyring Science Center.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards went to Lora Beth Brown, food science and nutrition; Susanne J. Davis, dance; and James D. Stice, accounting. Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Research and Creative Arts Awards were given to Wesley R. Burr, family life; W. Wayne Kimball Jr., visual arts; and Royal Skousen, English.

Karl G. Maeser General Education Professorships were awarded to Jon D. Green, humanities; R. Ward Rhees, zoology; and Sally T. Taylor, English.

W. Cole Durham Jr., law school, and Robert L. Marshall, visual arts, received university professorships. Clayton S. Huber, food science and nutrition, received the Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award. Lynn E. Henrichsen, linguistics, was given the Wesley P. Lloyd Award for distinction in graduate education. The Alumni Professorship went to Gregory D. Clark, English. Nolan F. Mangelson, chemistry, received the Phi Kappa Phi Award.

Recognized this year as Alcuin Fellows were Hal L. Black, zoology; Susan Cockayne, microbiology; Chad F. Emmett, geography; Thomas B. Holman, family sciences; A. Keith Lawrence, English; David B. Paxman, English; Martha Moffit Peacock, visual arts; and James S. Taylor, Spanish and Portuguese. Young Scholar Awards went to Keith A. Crandall, zoology; Brad L. Hutchings, electrical and computer engineering; and Linda Sullivan, visual arts.

C. Arden Pope, economics, is this year's Sigma Xi Lecturer, the university's top science honor. Morris J. Robins, chemistry and biochemistry, received the Sponsored Research Achievement Award, and the Annual Technology Transfer Award was shared by Larry C. Farmer and Stanley D. Neeleman, both from the law school.